Happily Ever After

“… And they lived happily ever after. The End.”

Ever since I was a little girl, I’ve watched movies of everything starting great, then getting bad and then being good again. I’ve seen many happily ever afters, from Rapunzel to Cinderella, Fiona, Aurora, Jasmine, Ariel, Snow White, Anna, Elsa and many more. When it happens, I’m overjoyed and can’t stop grinning or clapping. But the question here is..

“Am I living happily ever after?”

Well, no I’m not.

I don’t think I’ve gotten to a stage where I can attest to that. Happiness to me is frickle and really what you make of it. I am at the stage where I am just figuring what my life is, how my life is. I am happy for a lot of reasons but saying I’m living happily ever after would be pure fallacy.

Here’s the deal.

Do I believe in Happily Ever Afters?

There was a time I used to believe it existed and every time I was wishing that mine would hurry up soon. But now, I don’t believe because there is no Happily Ever After.

There’s always going to be bumps along the way but you can overcome it. Movies where they supposedly  live happily ever after are set in conditions which are practically and humanly impossible. That’s why they are movies, not real. And they always give a wrong expression of happiness. Happiness doesn’t always come after problems have been fixed cause if it were, we as humans would never have a taste of happiness.

Happiness is a choice you have to make.

Happiness is when in the middle of a crisis or situation, you say “I am not going to let you take my happiness” or “I am not going to lose my smile.”

Bottom line is we all deserve to be happy but there is no such things as being happily ever after. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. There’s always going to be something coming up, trying to steal our happiness but what matters is how we react it to it. We either let it take it away or we hold on tight and never let go.

Always remember Happiness is a choice.

You’re all amazing souls and deserve true happiness.

Be happy and stay happy.

Dys x

“A smiling face dispels unhappiness”

                               – Proverb.

Leave a Reply

